skip to main content

NHS Education for Scotland

A skilled and sustainable workforce for a healthier Scotland

Finalists announced

Finalists announced

Finalists announced

The finalists of the Scottish Health Awards 2022 have been announced.

The awards recognise those working across NHS Scotland and its partners delivering high quality health and social care services to the people of Scotland.

Judges had the difficult job of selecting the shortlisted individuals and teams from over 750 nominations.

This year’s finalists are as follows:

Leader of the Year (Sponsored by NHS Education for Scotland)

  • Jan Thomson, NHS Ayrshire & Arran
  • Fiona MacKenzie, NHS Grampian
  • Morag Curnow, NHS Tayside

Support Worker (Sponsored by Unison NHS Lothian branch)

  • Michael Grogan, NHS Tayside
  • Margaret Sloan, NHS Tayside
  • Tammie Jamieson, NHS Dumfries & Galloway

Midwife (Sponsored by Royal College of Midwives)

  • Anna Campbell, NHS Dumfries & Galloway
  • Vicky Blair, NHS Lothian
  • NHS Fife Birth at Home Team, NHS Fife

Allied Health Professional

  • Shuna Mighton, NHS Western Isles
  • Karen Robertson, NHS Dumfries & Galloway
  • Mhairi Burke, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Care for Mental Health

  • Lanarkshire Care Home Wellbeing Group, NHS Lanarkshire
  • Psychological Medicine, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, NHS Lothian
  • Trauma Informed Cervical Screening Project Team, NHS Forth Valley

Nurse (Sponsored by Unison Greater Glasgow and Clyde)

  • Isobel McLucas, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Brenda Kirk, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Linda McGinn, NHS Ayrshire & Arran


  • Ernest Akrong, NHS Orkney
  • Sineaid Bradshaw, NHS Lothian
  • Balasubramaniam Vijayan, NHS Grampian

A full list of finalists can be found on the Scottish Health Awards website.

All winners will be announced on Thursday 3 November at the awards ceremony in Edinburgh.

For further information about the Scottish Health Awards, visit the website.

October, 19 2022