This website places cookies on your device to help us improve our service to you. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies statement.

Skip to page content


Medical Awards recognise excellence across Scotland


Individuals and teams from across Scotland were recognised for their outstanding contributions to medical education and training in Scotland in the 5th annual NHS Education for Scotland (NES) Medical Awards.

The awards were presented as part of the 2018 NES Medical Conference, the largest of its kind, which brought together 1,500 delegates over two days to Edinburgh.

Chair of the judging panel, Professor Rowan Parks, said:

“Medical education and training is vitally important in developing and maintaining the skills of Scotland’s healthcare professionals.

“It’s always both a difficult task and a privilege to review the nominations for these awards. Every year we are impressed by the inspiration, dedication and leadership of the nominees They all demonstrate innovation, perseverance and a commitment to the highest standards in medical education and training.”

The 2018 award winners are:

• Innovation in Training – Islay Medical Services for planning and delivering the 2017 Islay Remote and Rural GP Medical Student Conference. This was the first undergraduate medical student conference in the UK to be specifically aimed at promoting the advantages of remote and rural medical careers. It was also the most geographically rural location a medical student conference has ever been located in.

• Excellence in Facilitating Transitions in Medical Education & Training - NHS Lothian Clinical Teaching Fellows. This group established the UK’s first ‘Metadebrief club’, enabling facilitators to review their simulation debriefing footage in a safe and constructive learning environment, and consider future steps for improvement.

• Process Development and Implementation - University of Aberdeen Gateway to Medicine Widening Access Programme. The team developed and implemented an innovative new medical education process, to widen access to Medicine as a career. In doing so, they conceived new processes and established new and innovative communications across multiple organisations to identify and nurture tomorrow's doctors.

• Staff Support - Medical Education Services Team, NHS Fife. This team are a cohesive, supportive, proactive group of high functioning individuals who understand the needs of medical students, doctors in training and trainers, achieving results well beyond that expected from their team size.

• Outstanding Role Model - Dr Richard Coleman, Associate Medical Director, NHS Grampian. This award is given in recognition of an individual whose behaviours, examples or successes have inspired medical students or postgraduate trainees in Scotland. Over many years, Dr Coleman has displayed leadership, integrity and humility, inspiring trainees and colleagues alike.

• Team of the Year - Obstetrics & Gynaecology Multidisciplinary Team, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire. The team comprises medical staff, midwives, coordinators, gynaecology nurses, sonographers, pharmacists and AHP’s, all contributing to an excellent learning environment.

• Lifetime Achievement in Medical Education (1) – Mrs Julie Struthers. For over 30 years Mrs Struthers has devoted herself to medical education, including achievements in the Universities of Dundee, Abertay and St Andrews. These range from working with Sir Alfred Cuschieri to develop the first laparoscopic surgical training course in the UK, to leading the development and implementation of an integrated curriculum management system at the University of St Andrews.

• Lifetime Achievement in Medical Education (2) - Dr Andrew Todd, NHS Lanarkshire and NHS Education for Scotland. Dr Todd was a consultant physician in Lanarkshire from 1985 to 2016, during which he developed a fully integrated induction programme, introduced protected teaching for trainees, maintained a weekly hospital grand round and implemented Foundation training. He has also played leading national roles in many areas, including chair of the SAC in Infectious Disease and serving on the education committee of the Faculty of Travel Medicine at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. He has had a major leadership role in Foundation training, initially as Foundation Consortium lead and since 2010 as Associate Postgraduate Dean and Lead of Foundation for the West of Scotland.


Reference: PR2018-010