This website places cookies on your device to help us improve our service to you. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies statement.

Skip to page content


Palliative and end of life care: enriching and improving experience


The Palliative and end of life care framework was created to support the learning and development needs of the health and social service workforce in Scotland. The framework focuses on five domains with four levels of knowledge and skills (informed, skilled, enhanced and expert).

The domains are:

  • fundamentals of palliative care;
  • communication and conversations;
  • loss, grief and bereavement;
  • care planning and delivery;
  • and care in the last days of life.

A learning resource, 'Informed about Palliative and End of Life Care' has also been produced to help those who come into contact with people who need palliative and end of life care, and their families and carers. This resource can be used in any health or care setting and includes a mixture of reading and learning activities.