This website places cookies on your device to help us improve our service to you. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies statement.

Skip to page content


New Standards for Nurses


The nursing and midwifery council (NMC) has launched a new framework for the education and training of nurses and midwives, and new standards of proficiency that nurses will be required to meet before they can apply for registration.

The new standards have been updated to reflect changes to the way that health care is being delivered. They represent the knowledge, skills and attributes that all future registered nurses must demonstrate to deliver safe, compassionate and effective nursing care. The framework for education and training sets out what nurses and midwives will need to know, and be able to do, by the time they apply for registration.

The new standards for nurses are:

·         Standards of proficiency for registered nurses

·         Standards framework for nursing and midwifery education

·         Standards for student supervision and assessment

·         Standards for pre-registration nursing programmes

These are available on the Nursing and Midwifery Council website at

The Standards for prescribers are available at