This website places cookies on your device to help us improve our service to you. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies statement.

Skip to page content

Advisory Board

Optometric Advisory Board Membership


Optometric Advisory Committee (OAC) will provide NHS Education for Scotland with strategic advice regarding the development and management of Optometric training in Scotland.  OAC will report to NHS Education for Scotland Board through NES Optometry Lead Officer(s) and the Director with responsibility for Optometry.  All Members of the Committee listed below are full members, i.e., voting members, with the exception of the Scottish Government's Optometric Adviser who shall remain a non-voting member.


*Nominated Substitute

Chair Frank Munro
Director with responsibility for Optometry (Executive Officer) Dr David Felix
NES Optometry Lead Officer (Programme Director)

Dr Kathryn Morrison and

Dr Lesley Rousselet

Representative from Glasgow Caledonian University Prof Anita Simmers
Professional Body / Regulator
General Optical Council / Lay Representative Dr Scott Mackie
The College of Optometrists Representative Jacqueline Martin
Chair, Optometry Scotland Nicola McIlvanney
Chair, The Professional Development Committee, Optometry Scotland Gillian Syme
Eyecare Scotland Representative Prof Roshini Sanders
Head of Policy and Development, Assocation of British Dispensing Opticians Barry Duncan
Scottish Government
Optometric Advisor Dr Janet Pooley
Ophthalmology Advisor Prof Carrie MacEwen
NHS in Scotland
Chair of NES Orthoptist Advisory Forum

Hazel McWhinnie

Optometric Advisor

Charlotte Ward


Requests for Observers shall be submitted in writing to the Executive Officer at least one month in advance of an OAC meeting.


A member of NES staff will be responsible for scheduling meetings, minuting actions, and e-mailing out the agenda and papers for the Committee.